Banbridge District encompasses the four main towns of Banbridge, Dromore, Gilford and Rathfriland.

Banbridge VIC is in the town centre, with a second base at the gleaming F.E. McWilliam Gallery and Studio, opened in 2008 and visited by HM The Queen and Prince Philip the following year. Born in Banbridge in 1909, McWilliam is regarded as one of Ireland’s most influential and successful sculptors. His original studio forms part of this stylishly designed space, and regularly changing exhibitions, a sculpture garden, café and craft shop complete the picture.

The surrounding area is known as the Gateway to the Mournes, so it's no surprise to discover plenty of golfing, angling, horseriding, cycling and walking opportunities. Originally built to transport coal, the Newry Canal is now disused but visitors can walk the pretty towpath that follows its 20mile stretch connecting Newry with Portadown. Stop off at Scarva Visitor Centre to have a pot of tea and learn about the Canal's rich history. Around Rathfriland, the signposted Brontë Homeland Drive is a 10 mile route tracing the story of the literary sisters' father who hailed from the area. 
Gallery image

1/3

Venue Info

Location

Location

Banbridge Visitor Information Centre, The Old Town Hall, 1 Scarva Street, Banbridge, Co. Down. Also at F.E. McWilliam Gallery and Studio, 200 Newry Rd, Co. Down
Belfast & Northern Ireland
Phone

Phone

(+44) (0)28 4062 0232

You may also be interested in

Search

Leave a comment